Ways to Preserve Onions

Happenings at My Little Farmhouse has some great ideas on how to preserve onions. Check it out….

Happenings at my Little Farmhouse

Onions were a great deal at our farms market this weekend so we bought a big bag. Onions are a hardy vegetable and can be kept fresh for many months if stored correctly.

1.  To store fresh onions I put the onions loose in a basket and place  in the coolest darkest part of my kitchen.  As I use an onion I check the others and I remove any onions that are rotting.  Generally onions will last several months like this.

2.  How to make  onions rings and freeze


I peel the onions and  slice them into about quarter inch slices. The large outside rings I use for the onion rings.Here is how I make the batter for my rings

1 cup corn starch
1 cup of all purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
12 oz liquid ( I use beer but okay to use water)

mix together and…

View original post 383 more words

Leave a Reply

